Collection Review: Pavement – Here (track)

I first heard of Pavement when one of my favorite bands, Oceansize, covered them in their final show with their first bassist. It sounded like a pleasant enough cover, so I went in search of the original. Here is from Pavement’s 1992 release, Slanted and Enchanted, which I don’t own, but have listened to a few times. That being said, it has quite the legacy of being the perfect indie rock album, whether it is or not, I’ll have to investigate at some point in the not too distant future.

Pavement

After listening to Here a few times I was struck by how honest the song felt and this feeling of it really hitting home with me. Dressing for success that never comes, waiting at the end of everything; all that jazz really strikes a chord (forgive the pun). The effectiveness behind this track lies in Stephen Malkmus‘ simple guitar work and very intricate lyrics that hint at an early 90’s elegant poet. The song gives off that feeling of helplessness, at the end of a life that has been headed by repetition and disappointment; personal and otherwise.

Frankly, I was not expecting the track to hit so close to home. Just wanted to listen to some music Pavement, you’re cutting a little close to the bone here: And I’m the only one who laughs at your jokes when they are so bad, and the jokes are always bad.

Do we keep it in the collection?

Despite bringing out the worst in me, yes.

Leave a Reply

