Favourite Movie Soundtracks

The title is what it is! These are a few of my favourite movie soundtracks, I think that everyone should own these, because my opinion is the right one (in my opinion). Movie soundtracks are what got me into music, to be perfectly crystal clear, without them, I’d probably only be listening to the most basic of stuff. Like my praised Aqua CD, I wish I was kidding.

I’ll be including both soundtracks and scores, so anything goes really!

I’m only going to do five this week, but every week I’ll add another five, because I love too many to list in one post. Not because I’m a lazy cunt. I swear.

So let’s get this roller-coaster rollin’.

Dawn Of The Dead (2004)

DawnOfTheDead 2004 frt

Here’s a little perspective for you: this came out back in 2004 and was basically when I first started listening to music. This soundtrack also contains artists that I would later consider to be my favourites, including Johnny Cash and Richard Cheese. So this was the catalyst for my interest in music, outside of the Spice Girls and such, anyway. The music is a mixture of almost everything, with plenty of rocky moments, mixed in with some incredibly bewildering (but good) choices of song; see the montage with Richard Cheese.

Movie Music Moment: The intro credits with Johnny Cash

Donnie Darko

donnie_darko

Donnie Darko’s soundtrack is an incredibly beautiful and striking mix of stripped back piano music, some electronic elements and some sinister twists; much like the movie. This soundtrack is probably one of the ones I’ve spent the most time listening to, simply because it blends so well into everyday life (and time travel).

Movie Music Moment: Gretchen Ross

Reservoir Dogs

7158_687464

Plenty of Tarintino movies to choose from, but Reservoir Dogs is the one that has stuck with me through the years. It mixes catchy pop music of the time with samples from the movie and the radio-talk show host that you hear at the beginning of the movie. It gives you an incredibly jarring sense of musical joy, despite the on-screen violence. Lots of music from the 50’s to the 80’s, so there’s mucho happy tuneage to get your teeth into.

Movie Music Moment: Mr Blonde is Stuck In The Middle With You.

The Nightmare Before Christmas

tim-burtons-the-nightmare-before-christmas-51021e10d4464

This one takes me back through the years. I loved this soundtrack before I loved music, but it didn’t really turn me onto the idea of getting more music. I think I was more interested in playing with my Lego and making blanket forts than anything else back then. It’s a grand soundtrack with many gems that will get caught in your head for days. Well done Danny Elfman! You could also check out the Nightmare Revisited, which is the soundtrack, as done by bands like Plain White Tees, Rise Against and so on. That Rise Against version of Making Christmas is the balls!

Movie Music Moment: Jack’s Obsession 

Layer Cake

51blcRtiVGL

A wonderful collection of musicians that all fit this British gangster flick surprisingly well; I would have never been able to imagine Duran Duran in this movie, or maybe I would have? Depends on the song. Either way, this soundtrack has lots of electronic goodness and a few rockier moments from the likes of Duran Duran. A very British soundtrack if you ask me!

Movie Music Moments: Coffee with Duran Duran

That’s your lot for now! I’ll be back next week with a few more glorious movie soundtracks, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

