Music I’ve Liked During My Absence

I was missing in action for a few months ago until recently, so everyone has missed the opportunity to hear about some of my favourites from the past few months. This post is my attempt at remedying that. These albums won’t necessarily all be new, but you’ll get a good idea of what’s hip right now, in my opinion.

Let’s cut the foreplay and get to the nitty gritty.

Stuff from 2015

Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly

Yeah, this album was good. This album might grow on me some more, but, until it does, good kid, m.A.A.d city was better. Come at me.

Lo! – The Tongueless

Jesus-tap-dancing-christ. This EP was a pleasent surprise when I heard it in all of it’s crushing, oblivion inducing heaviness. Sounds like a slightly less heavy Meshuggah, but that’s cool. Give this a listen if you like mathy-heavy-proggy metal goodness. Check out the video below too, it’s mental!

Rolo Tomassi – Grievances

UK mathcore band that has been subject to a line-up change recently, but have managed to remain faithful to their original sound whilst slipping a few more (Crazy) jazz moments in there. Holy shit, Opalescent may be one of my favourite tracks of 2015.

Hotline Miami 2 Soundtrack – Various Artists

Brilliant game, but fuck you hard-mode, with another incredible soundtrack. Despite there being a lot more tracks that I skip, it still houses some amazing synth-wave/neo-80s music. Now that I think about it, is weird, since the game is set in the very late half of the 80s and even, on occasion, in the 90s.

Vennart – Demon Joke

Vocalist/guitarist of Oceansize sets foot from under the shadow of Oceansize and his other project, British Theatre and shows off something special that has been missing from the world of music for the past few years. Eclectic, but not rough, Demon Joke demonstrates how a solo album can feel like anything but dull and by the numbers. It feels personal, bombastic and sometimes catchy, but always an absolute pleasure for my ears.

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Euclid

Euclid has vibrant and fluid electronic tunes that will fulfil your desire for some bright ambient music and all while not being dull. Maybe something to let bloom from your speakers with the window open, not because you’re an asshole that wants everyone else to hear it, but because it’s getting closer to summer and damn, it’s hot sometimes!

Hop Along – Painted Shut

Loved band with their previous album and actually played it a fair bit when I use to be on the radio, but now it’s a new day! Painted Shut feels ambitious and hits on all the personal notes that you could want from front-lass Frances Quinlan. Special mention for the song Waitress, a bit of a giggle and I always enjoy relatable lyrics.

Stuff not from 2015

Board Of Canada – Geogaddi

I went on a bit of an ambient spree when I was away and let my ears take in some of the sound scenes that I’d missed before I got into music. I just loved how organic and interesting this whole album sounds with its warm nostalgic tones and wondrous use of samples; a recommendation for anyone that likes ambient or even electronic music.

Aerial M – As Performed By

This is the side project of former Slint (known for releasing one of the most influential post-rock albums ever, Spiderland) musician David Pajo and whilst it was released all the way back in 1997, I’ve just heard it. Lots of subtle and ambient guitar work for those bittersweet summer evenings tinged with orange sunlight.

Long Fin Killie – Houdini

Thanks to the Melvins, I can never really think about Houdini without thinking of gert-massive sludge tunes, but these experimental rockers shook that up. This album feels like an incrementally more abstract view on the life and times of Harry Houdini and with its lush and jazz instrumentation, you’ll continue to return to Houdini.

Isis – Panopticon

A heavy an outstanding post-metal album that I only came across recently, where it’s been for the rest of my life, I have no idea. By itself, a killer album, but whack it alongside it’s main theme that draws parallels between the original prison design by Bentham and what’s happening in contemporary society. Themes are dead fun.

Leave a Reply

